If I Were in Charge of the World

If I Were in Charge of the World
(a form change poem with thanks to Judith Viorst)

If I were in charge of the world,
I’d cancel sickness, war, and also ticks.

If I were in charge of the world,
There would be more horses, more friends, and lots of beautiful sights.

If I were in charge of the world,
You wouldn’t have homework.
You wouldn’t have blood.
You wouldn’t have people ever hungry.

If I were in charge of the world,
Cheeseburgers, ice cream, salad, lemonade, and hots dogs
Would be a balanced meal.
All people would be able to not have to pay.
And a person who sometimes eats beetles and bugs
And loves the smell of gasoline
Would still be allowed to be in charge of the world.

3 thoughts on “If I Were in Charge of the World

  1. I love this, and I would totally put you in charge of the world! I do wonder if you really do eat beetles and bugs though… hmmmm.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *