What I Found in My Old Dirty Trunk

What I Found in My Old Dirty Trunk:

A toxic, tattered treasure map,

A rotten, dirty sock, lost now found,

A stiff dead rat from who knows where,

A telephone that’s lost its ring,

A weird-shaped carrot that I’ll never eat,

A frightening rubber rattlesnake from a play I once did,

A fluffy stuffed anteater that never missed an ant,

An elephant whose trunk was stuck in mine,

An accordion that never played a hymn,

A snail who must have lost its way,

A seaside shell that has a nice swirl,

A breakable, brittle skeleton that must have stumbled in.

3 thoughts on “What I Found in My Old Dirty Trunk

  1. I really like how after each thing that you found in your trunk you did some explanation of what was there, why it was there, what you did, and a lot of people would not have done that, so I think it is really cool….ClimbingGirl

  2. This poem makes me smile! Wonderfully used descriptive words, like toxic and brittle! You chose great objects, and I especially like the rubber rattlesnake from a play you once did! Then the stories that you put along with the objects really help me to feel like I can see, and smell them! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *